The University of Waikato - Te Whare Wananga o WaikatoThe University of Waikato - Te Whare Wananga o Waikato

Archived 2006 Calendar

To The University of Waikato Homepage Waikato Home > 2006 Calendar > Qualification Regulations > Diploma
Site Index | Text Only
Waikcookie logout image

You are currently viewing the archived 2006 Calendar

Regulations for the Postgraduate Diploma in Māori and Pacific Development (PGDipMPD)

1.   Every candidate for the Postgraduate Diploma in Māori and Pacific Development must
  (a)   have qualified for the award of a bachelors degree or a qualification considered by the Academic Board to be equivalent, or
  (b)   in exceptional circumstances have produced other evidence which satisfies the Academic Board that she or he has adequate training and ability to proceed to the diploma programme, on such terms as the Academic Board may prescribe with respect to qualifying papers which must be passed or additional work which must be completed, either prior to admission or concurrently.
2.   With the special approval of the Academic Board, candidates in their final year of study for a bachelors degree of the University, who have no more than 40 points left to complete the requirements for a qualification as specified in section 1 of these regulations, may be permitted to enrol concurrently in the PGDipMPD, provided that he or she has completed the minimum requirements in the major subject or subjects, being the subject or subjects he or she is presenting for the PGDipMPD. Such a candidate may not be awarded the PGDipMPD until he or she has also qualified for the award of the bachelors degree.
3.   Every candidate for admission to the PGDipMPD must be accepted by the Dean of Māori and Pacific Development.
4.   Candidates must enrol and follow an approved programme of study in the School of Māori and Pacific Development for at least one year.
5.   The subjects for the diploma shall be:
      Development Studies
      Te Reo Māori/Māori Language
      Tikanga Māori/Māori Cultural Studies
6.   To complete the requirements of the diploma, candidates must gain 120 points at Level 5 in one or two of the subjects listed in section 5 of these regulations.
7.   The Postgraduate Diploma in Māori and Pacific Development may be awarded with Distinction.
8.   The Academic Board or delegated authority may vary or waive these regulations in individual cases.

The University of Waikato - Te Whare Wananga o Waikato
Last modified: Thu Nov 24 13:59:57 2005

Page Generated: Mon Aug 20 09:11:09 2018
This page has been reformatted for printing