The University of Waikato - Te Whare Wananga o WaikatoThe University of Waikato - Te Whare Wananga o Waikato

Archived 2006 Calendar

To The University of Waikato Homepage Waikato Home > 2006 Calendar > Qualification Regulations
Site Index | Text Only
Waikcookie logout image

You are currently viewing the archived 2006 Calendar

Regulations for the Degree of Bachelor of Social Sciences with Honours (BSocSc(Hons))

1.   Candidates for the degree of Bachelor of Social Sciences with Honours must have
  (a)   qualified for the award of the degree of Bachelor of Social Sciences of the University of Waikato, or a qualification considered by the Academic Board to be equivalent, and
  (b)   satisfied the prerequisites for graduate study in the subject(s) being presented for the degree, at levels considered appropriate by the Academic Board.
2.   Candidates who have completed the requirements of the major subject (being the subject to be taken for the Bachelor of Social Sciences with Honours degree) in the qualifying bachelors degree, but who have no more than 40 points left to complete that degree, may be permitted to enrol in the Bachelor of Social Sciences with Honours degree. The Bachelor of Social Sciences with Honours will not be deemed to have been completed until the bachelors degree has also been completed.
3.   Candidates must enrol and follow an approved programme of study in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences for at least one year.
4.   Candidates must gain a total of 120 points at Level 5, including any compulsory papers prescribed in the Calendar, in one of the following subjects:
      Education Studies
      Health Development and Policy
      Human Development
      Labour Studies
      Political Science
      Public Policy
      Resources and Environmental Planning
      Social Policy
      Tikanga Māori/Māori Cultural Studies
  Candidates may be permitted to substitute a maximum of 60 points at Level 5 with papers from another subject or subjects.
5.   If a candidate fails a paper, he or she may be permitted to repeat the paper or take an alternative paper on one occasion only. A candidate who fails more than once will not be permitted to proceed with the degree.
6.   The degree may be awarded with First Class Honours, Second Class Honours (first division), Second Class Honours (second division), or Third Class Honours. Except with the approval of the Academic Board, the award of honours will be calculated on the basis of the grades of the first 120 points completed by the candidate while enrolled for the degree, including any failed paper.
7.   The Personal Programmes of Study Regulations Governing Graduate Degrees apply in these regulations and include provisions for the variation and waiver of these regulations in individual cases by the Academic Board or delegated authority.

The University of Waikato - Te Whare Wananga o Waikato
Last modified: Thu Nov 24 14:00:04 2005

Page Generated: Mon Aug 20 09:10:46 2018
This page has been reformatted for printing