The University of Waikato - Te Whare Wananga o WaikatoThe University of Waikato - Te Whare Wananga o Waikato

Archived 2006 Calendar

To The University of Waikato Homepage Waikato Home > 2006 Calendar > Qualification Regulations
Site Index | Text Only
Waikcookie logout image

You are currently viewing the archived 2006 Calendar

Regulations for the Degree of Master of Laws (LLM)

1.   Candidates for the degree of Master of Laws must have
  (a)   qualified for the award of the Bachelor of Laws degree or a combined Law degree of the University of Waikato, or a qualification considered by the Academic Board to be equivalent, and
  (b)   satisfied the prerequisites for graduate study in the subject(s) being presented for the degree, at levels considered appropriate by the Academic Board.
2.   In exceptional circumstances, candidates who do not meet the standard entry requirements specified in section 1 of these regulations, may, on the basis of evidence of adequate training and ability, be permitted to enrol in the Master of Laws, subject to the completion of any qualifying papers or additional work as may be required by the Academic Board, either prior to admission or concurrently.
3.   Candidates must enrol and follow an approved programme of study in the School of Law for at least one year. The requirements of the degree must be completed within four consecutive years of first enrolment for the degree.
4.   Candidates must pass a total of 120 points at Level 5 in Law. Candidates may be permitted to replace 30 points at Level 5 from another subject.
5.   Candidates may be permitted to present a dissertation equivalent to 30 or 60 points at Level 5.
6.   Candidates who have qualified for the degree of Bachelor of Laws with Honours at the University of Waikato or a qualification considered by the Academic Board to be equivalent, or who have otherwise provided evidence that satisfies the Academic Board of his or her ability to do so, may be permitted to take the degree by four‑paper thesis alone.
7.   If a candidate fails a paper or papers worth not more than 30 points in total, he or she may repeat the paper(s) or take alternative papers with the same total point value on one occasion only. A candidate who fails a paper will not be eligible for the award of honours. A candidate who fails papers worth more than 30 points in total will not be permitted to proceed with the degree.
8.   The degree may be awarded with First Class Honours, Second Class Honours (first division), Second Class Honours (second division) or without honours. In order to be eligible for consideration for the award of honours, the requirements for the degree must be completed within one year of full‑time study, or within two consecutive years of part‑time study.
9.   The Personal Programmes of Study Regulations Governing Graduate Degrees apply in these regulations and include provisions for the variation and waiver of these regulations in individual cases by the Academic Board or delegated authority.

The University of Waikato - Te Whare Wananga o Waikato
Last modified: Thu Nov 24 14:00:04 2005

Page Generated: Mon Aug 20 09:10:07 2018
This page has been reformatted for printing