The University of Waikato - Te Whare Wananga o WaikatoThe University of Waikato - Te Whare Wananga o Waikato

Archived 2006 Calendar

To The University of Waikato Homepage Waikato Home > 2006 Calendar > Qualification Regulations
Site Index | Text Only
Waikcookie logout image

You are currently viewing the archived 2006 Calendar

Regulations for the Degree of Master of Māori and Pacific Development (MMPD)

1.   Candidates for the degree of Master of Māori and Pacific Development must have
  (a)   qualified for the award of a bachelors degree, and
  (b)   qualified for the award of the Postgraduate Diploma in Māori and Pacific Development of the University of Waikato, or a qualification considered by the Academic Board to be equivalent, and
  (c)   satisfied the prerequisites for graduate study in the subject(s) being presented for the degree, at levels considered appropriate by the Academic Board.
2.   In exceptional circumstances candidates who do not satisfy the requirements of section 1 of these regulations may be considered for admission on the basis of satisfactory evidence of adequate training and ability. The Academic Board may prescribe qualifying papers which must be completed, either prior to admission or concurrently.
3.   Candidates must enrol, and follow an approved programme of study in the School of Māori and Pacific Development for at least one year.
4.   Candidates must gain a total of 120 points at Level 5, comprising two 30 point papers and a dissertation equivalent to 60 points, in one or both of the following subjects:
      Development Studies
      Te Reo Māori/Māori Language
      Tikanga Māori/Māori Cultural Studies
  Candidates may be permitted to replace a maximum of 60 points with 60 points at Level 5 from another subject or subjects.
5.   If a candidate fails a paper, he or she may repeat the paper or take an alternative paper on one occasion only. Candidates who fail more than once will not be permitted to proceed with the degree.
6.   The degree may be awarded with First Class Honours, Second Class Honours (first division) or Second Class Honours (second division) or without honours.
7.   In order to be eligible for consideration for the award of honours, candidates must complete the requirements for the degree in no more than one year. The award of honours will be calculated on the basis of the grades of the first 120 points completed by the candidate while enrolled for the degree, including any failed paper.
8.   The Personal Programmes of Study Regulations Governing Graduate Degrees apply in these regulations and include provisions for the variation and waiver of these regulations in individual cases by the Academic Board or delegated authority.

The University of Waikato - Te Whare Wananga o Waikato
Last modified: Thu Nov 24 14:00:04 2005

Page Generated: Mon Aug 20 09:10:43 2018
This page has been reformatted for printing